40 rounds long, my version of 127 Hours

MOST INTENSE DRAFT EVER

It all started off as recruitment off of Twitter, Lawrence created a dynasty baseball league with 16 managers to fill.  A few days later the league is filled and everyone is paid up and ready to draft.  It was a slow draft, 40 rounds and being the league has 16 managers it looked like we’d take forever and a day to get this done; but as of March 2nd 2011 the draft is done. We’ve gone thru countless number of texts to anyone up to draft, Direct Messaging on Twitter, phone calling just so we could keep the draft moving because we’re all getting anxious and wanting to get this over with outside of our daily lives.  I would get up at 4:30am Hawaii time just to announce my next pick or picks before i get a chance to lay back down, dedicated i say.  All my east coast buds on here stayed up kinda late as well to pull off at least 2 rounds of drafting which was a grueling process; but we all stuck together and accomplished this epic draft.  Let me tell you I’ve been a part of a lot of drafts whether its football, baseball or basketball and this one by far has been the best.  The league is filled with excellent managers, great people and everyone speaks their mind.  This is going to be one hell of a league for as long as we all stay in tact in this dynasty; because already during the draft there have been countless of trades.  With that being said I will break down my draft and my thoughts and expectations going forward, looking forward to another great year in sports, fantasy sports and a league filled with great people.

Round 1 pick 14

1B – Adrian Gonzalez – Red Sox (was hoping he’d fall to me at 14 with a few Boston fans in this league, there was no other option)

Round 2 pick 19

3B – Alex Rodriguez – Yankees (best value for a former top 3 pick, I wanted Felix Hernandez but Pitching has a lot more depth than 3B)

Round 3 pick 46

SP – Zack Greinke – Brewers (targeted Andrew McCutchen with this pick and almost fell to me so instead took the top SP on my board, a move to the NL will help Greinke.)

Round 4 pick 51

OF – Andre Ethier – Dodgers (thought about pairing up Gallardo with Greinke but OF’s were going fast and he was best one available before a slight drop off in production.)

Round 5 pick 78

OF – BJ Upton – Rays (while people are down on him, I like Upton I can deal with the strikeouts so long as he gives me nearly 50 SB’s) later traded for SP – Francisco Liriano – Twins*

Round 6 pick 83

SS – Alexi Rameriz – White Sox (best SS available at time and knew he wouldn’t make it back to me, as we know SS is a shallow position this year)

Round 7 pick 110

OF – Adam Jones – Orioles (didn’t expect to get Adam this late, he has 20Hrs 20SBs potential and hopefully he puts it together this year) later traded for Jacoby Ellsbury

Round 8 pick 115

SP – Clay Buchholz – Red Sox (waited 5 rounds to get another SP and turned out to be a decent one with upside, he’s on the right team to rack up wins and K’s)

later traded for C – Jarrod Saltalamacchia – Red Sox

Round 9 pick 142

RP – John Axford – Brewers (went with an upside RP here, on an excellent team that provides runs and has 40 save potential, ill take that in round 9)

Round 10 pick 147

2B – Neil Walker – Pirates (had to grab a hold on a 2B already, they were dropping fast and Neil is young and the potential is there, I have him as 10th best 2B on my board)

Round 11 pick 174

OF – Bryce Harper – Nationals (future stud right here, one of the top prospects entering 2011 and was surprised he was available with everyone taking a shot at prospects past few rounds)

Round 12 pick 179

SP – Edison Volquez – Reds (surprised he was even available at this point in the draft, especially because he’s the ace of the Reds rotation and I believe he’ll be just fine again, K’s machine)

Round 13 pick 206

SP – Jorge De La Rosa – Rockies (my sleeper pick this year, has the skillset to become an ace and plays in a hitter friendly park yet keeps his ERA low, his value will rise after this year in redraft leagues)

Round 14 pick 211

RP – Daniel Bard – Red Sox (went with a homer pick here even with Papelbon still on the board because sooner or later Bard will take over the closer role on the perfect team, and any Red Sox fan will tell you Bard has better stuff than Papelbon)

Round 15 pick 238

1B – James Loney – Dodgers (had to grab another INF just in case Adrian has a slow start to the season and Loney was best available, no upside but I know what to expect from him)

later traded for 1B Freddie Freeman – Braves

FINAL ROSTER

C – JARROD SALTALAMACCHIA

1B – ADRIAN GONZALEZ / FREDDIE FREEMAN / LARS ANDERSON

2B – NEIL WALKER / ALEXI CASILLA

SS  – ALEXI RAMERIZ / MIGUEL TEJADA / YAMAICO NAVARRO / EDUARDO ESCOBAR / EDGAR RENTERIA / PAUL JANISH

3B – ALEX RODRIGUEZ

OF – ANDRE ETHIER / JACOBY ELLSBURY / BRYCE HARPER / BRETT JACKSON / FRANKLIN GUITERREZ / TONY GWYNN JR / LASTINGS MILLEDGE / NICK EVANS / DAVID MURPHY / CHRIS DICKERSON

SP – ZACK GREINKE / FRANCISO LIRIANO / EDISON VOLQUEZ / JORGE DE LA ROSA / BRANDON WEBB / ALEX COBB / RANDALL DELGADO

RP – JOHN AXFORD / DANEIL BARD / JAKE MCGEE / MANNY PARRA / KYLE MCCLELLAN/ SEAN BURNETT / JOHNNY VENTERS /

that was the first 15 rounds of my draft and with trades included I was satisified with my team, could’ve went a different route with certain players and I waited to long on certain players I wanted because of the long wait in between my next pick after the turn around.  Some notables for the rest of the draft is I took 2 sleeper RP’s in Jake McGee (Rays) and Johnny Venters (Braves) also if he can stay healthy I say I got a steal in round 23 by drafting SP Brandon Webb (Rangers) did a few more trades acquired more players and moved picks around with the end resulting in a balanced squad if all or most can stay healthy.  My prospects are solid on both offense (Bryce Harper, Brett Jackson, Lars Anderson and Yamaico Navarro) and pitching (Alex Cobb, Randall Delgado) hoping all of them makes a splash this year in the bigs.  Now that opening day is almost here and rosters are set, I’m looking forward to a great season and many more trades to come, so to everyone in the New Jersey Fantasy Baseball League I wish you all good luck and cheers to a wonderful and exciting season, aloha.

 

Leave a Reply

